edo speaker

Blessing Agbebaku, elected Speaker of Edo 8th Assembly

Members of the 8th Edo State House of Assembly were inaugurated on Friday. Hon. Blessing Agbebaku, representing Owan West Constituency, was elected Speaker, and Hon. Marian Edekor, representing Esan North East 2 Constituency, was elected Deputy Speaker. Both were elected unopposed.

Agbebaku, a two-term member of the House, won the position after Hon. Natasha Osawaru of the Egor Constituency and Hon. Patrick Aisosa of the Esan North East 1 Constituency moved the motion.

Hon. Destiny Enabulele, who represents the Ovia South West Constituency, and Hon. Gani Akokhia, who represents the Etsako West 2 Constituency, proposed a motion to elect Edekor as deputy speaker.

image 59

In his acceptance speech, Agbebaku expressed his humility at winning the election and pledged to work with all House members to develop Edo State. He also promised to be a fair and impartial speaker who would uphold the rule of law.

The election of the speaker could lay to rest, the political permutations of next year governorship election in the state. Hon. Blessing Agbebaku hails from Edo North where the current deputy governor Philip Shuaibu hails from and they belong to the PDP. This could also subtly imply that the PDP would zone their governorship ticket to Edo Central.

Agbebaku is a graduate of economics and statistics from the University of Benin. He has served as a member of the Edo State House of Assembly between 2007 and 2011 and as Chief of Staff to the immediate past Speaker, Marcus Onobun.

Edekor is a graduate of law from the University of Benin. She has served as a member of the Edo State House of Assembly since 2019.

The inauguration of the 8th Edo State House of Assembly marks the beginning of a new era for the state. The new Speaker and Deputy Speaker have pledged to work together to bring about positive change for the people of Edo.

A writer at Parallel Facts