Two EFCC officers charged with the murder of a colleague over suspects items min

EFCC Beam Search Light on 28 former Governors and their Deputies as May 29 Approaches

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has begun moves to investigate outgoing governors and their deputies, according to reliable sources that spoke with Parallel Facts.

In a country with 36 state governors, an internal memo at the commission reveals that the investigations involve at least 28 governors and their deputies.

Out of these 28 governors, 18 of them, along with their deputies, are set to step down on May 29, when their second terms end.

The EFCC has requested the asset declaration forms of these officials from the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB). The CCB has not yet responded to the EFCC’s request.

The asset declaration forms are invaluable resources for investigators. They can help identify any unexplained wealth or assets that may have been acquired through corrupt means. However, serving vice presidents, governors, and deputy governors in Nigeria are immune from criminal prosecution, limiting the EFCC and other anti-corruption agencies to preliminary investigations.

The EFCC’s investigation is ongoing. It is not yet clear what charges, if any, will be brought against the officials under investigation.

See the full list of governors and their deputies below:

  1. Abia State

Governor: Okezie Ikpeazu

Deputy: Ude Oko Chukwu

  1. Adamawa State

Governor: Ahmadu Fintiri

Deputy: Crowther Seth

  1. Akwa Ibom State

Governor: Udom Emmanuel

Deputy: Moses Ekpo

  1. Bauchi State

Governor: Bala Mohammed

Deputy: Baba Tela

  1. Benue State

Governor: Samuel Ortom

Deputy: Benson Abounu

  1. Borno State

Governor: Babagana Zulum

Deputy: Umar Kadafur

  1. Cross River

Governor Benedict Ayade

Deputy: Ivara Esu

  1. Delta State

Governor Ifeanyi Okowa

Deputy: Kingsley Otuaro

  1. Ebonyi State

Governor: Dave Umahi

Deputy: Eric Igwe

  1. Enugu State

Governor: Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi

Deputy: Cecilia Ezeilo

  1. Gombe State

Governor: Muhammad Yahaya

Deputy: Manasseh Jatau

  1. Jigawa State

Governor: Muhammad Abubakar

Deputy: Umar Namadi

  1. Kaduna State

Governor: Nasir El-Rufai

Deputy: Hadiza Balarabe

  1. Kano State

Governor: Abdullahi Ganduje

Deputy: Nasir Gawuna

  1. Katsina State

Governor: Aminu Masari

Deputy: Mannir Yakubu

  1. Kebbi State

Governor: Abubakar Bagudu

Deputy: Samaila Dabai

  1. Kwara State

Governor: Abdulrahman AbdulRasaq

Deputy: Kayode Alabi

  1. Lagos State

Governor: Babajide Sanwo-Olu

Deputy: Femi Hamzat

  1. Nasarawa State

Governor: Abdullahi Sule

Deputy: Emmanuel Akabe

  1. Niger State

Governor Abubakar Bello

Deputy: Ahmed Ketso

  1. Ogun State

Governor: Dapo Abiodun

Deputy: Noimot Salako-Oyedele

  1. Oyo State

Governor: Oluwaseyi Makinde

Deputy: Adebayo Lawal

  1. Plateau State

Governor: Simon Lalong

Deputy: Sonni Tyoden

  1. Rivers State

Governor Nyesom Wike

Deputy: Ipalibo Banigo

  1. Sokoto State

Governor Aminu Tambuwal

Deputy: Manni Dan-Iya

  1. Taraba State

Governor: Darius Ishaku

Deputy: Haruna Manu

  1. Yobe State

Governor: Mai-Mala Buni

Deputy: Idi Gubana

  1. Zamfara State

Governor: Bello Matawalle

Deputy: Hassan Gusau