Presidential Election Tribunal

[Breaking News] Lawsuit Filed To Prevent Tinubu’s Oath-taking On May 29th.

As Asiwaju Bola Tinubu is set to be sworn in as president in 15 days, five residents of the Federal Capital Territory, or FCT, Abuja, have petitioned the Abuja Division of the Federal High Court to seek the event to be stopped.

Bola Tinubu 2
Photo Credit; Google

The suit aims to institute a court order preventing Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, the Chief Justice of Nigeria, and any other judicial officials from swearing in the president-elect and vice until a legal decision is made.

Additionally, they requested that a ruling on “the plaintiffs and other FCT residents have a legal interest and constitutional rights to be heard on whether a President-elect must secure at least 25% of the votes cast on the first ballot in the FCT, Abuja.”

“A declaration that no state in the nation may simultaneously serve as the FCT for any proposal, including, in particular, those made in accordance with Section 134(2)(b) of the Constitution.

“A statement that no contender for president in the country’s election on February 25 may be legitimately proclaimed elected without receiving at least 25% of the votes cast in the FCT, Abuja.

“A proclamation that states no candidate in the February 25 presidential election may legitimately take the oath of office as President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria without first receiving 25% of the vote in the FCT, Abuja.

“A declaration that His Excellency, Muhammadu Buhari, GCON, as President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, subsists and endures in accordance with the provisions of Section 135 (1) (a) of the Constitution following the February 25 presidential election and until a successor is determined in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution and sworn in.”

Additionally, “an order setting aside or suspending any declaration and/or issuance of a Certificate of a Return to any candidate in the country’s February 25 presidential election as having been elected, unless and until it is judicially determined with finality that such candidate fulfilled the requirements stated in Section 134(2)(b) of the Constitution, Anyaegbunam Okoye, David Adzer, Jeffery Ucheh, Osang Paul, and Chibuike Nwachukwu are the five plaintiffs who filed the lawsuit and identified themselves as “registered voters of the FCT, Abuja.”

The matter named the CJN and the Attorney-General of the Federation as the first and second defendants, respectively.