President Buhari Virtually min

President Buhari Commissions The Second Niger Bridge and Federal Secretariat, Awka, in Absentia.

President Muhammadu Buhari officially commissioned the Second Niger Bridge and the newly built Federal Secretariat in Awka today, May 23, 2023, in a ceremony in which he was conspicuously absent and represented by the Minister for Labour, Dr. Chris Ngige. Respected dignitaries were present at the event, which marked a milestone for the area.

Adding to the occasion, the Southeast Governors announced their decision to name the Second Niger Bridge after President Muhammadu Buhari. This gesture, according to Governor Soludo, is a testament to the President’s unwavering commitment to the infrastructural development of Nigeria, particularly in the Southeast, adding that the Second Niger Bridge stands as a symbol of progress, connecting communities and facilitating smoother transportation between the East and West regions.

FB IMG 1684860253580
Minister for Labour, Chris Ngige cutting ribbon in Buhari’s Absence.

Furthermore, in recognition of a trailblazing figure in Nigerian history, President Buhari, who opted for a virtual presence, revealed that the newly inaugurated Federal Secretariat would be named after Engr. Mrs. Ebele O. Okeke, OON.
Engr. Mrs. Okeke holds the distinction of being the first female and former Head of the Civil Service of the Federation. This announcement is a tribute to her groundbreaking achievements.

FB IMG 1684860260428

The inauguration of the Second Niger Bridge and the Federal Secretariat in Awka has ushered in a new era. The South-eastern governors expressed gratitude to President Buhari for his administration’s commitment to infrastructural development and pledged to ensure the optimal utilisation and maintenance of these landmark projects.

FB IMG 1684860245986

The Minister for Works, Babatunde Fashola, also participated in the event virtually. The five governors include Mr. Soludo (Anambra), Dave Umahi (Ebonyi), Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu), Hope Uzodinma (Imo), and Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia).