Screenshot 20230913

The 24 Nations That Qualified for Afcon 2023

The final games of the Afcon qualifiers come to an end as 24 teams qualify to participate in the African Cup of Nations that takes place in Ivory Coast next January.

The list was confirmed on Tuesday following the final games that saw Cameroon and Namibia become the 23rd and 24th nations that will be travelling to Ivory Coast next year.

The Afcon had originally been scheduled to start in June 2023 but was moved to a later date of January 13, 2024, because of fears for the rainy season in Ivory Coast.

48 teams were shared into 12 groups in the qualifiers, and the top two teams in each group will qualify for the tournament after a home and away round-robin format.

The 24 teams to qualify are listed below according to their groups, starting with the first group.

Group A: Nigeria, Guinea-Bissau

Group B: Burkina Faso, Cape Verde

Group C: Cameroon, Namibia

Group D: Egypt, Guinea

Group E: Ghana, Angola

Group F: Algeria, Tanzania

Group G: Mali, Gambia

Group H: Zambia, Ivory Coast

Group I: DR Congo, Mauritania

Group J: Tunisia, Equatorial Guinea

Group K: South Africa, Morocco

Group L: Senegal, Mozambique

A writer at Parallel Facts